5 Netflix series to binge this weekend

By this point in lockdown, week I-can’t-remember, you probably feel like you’ve watched everything there is to watch on Netflix twice over and are sat refreshing the home screen hoping something new will pop up to cure your boredom. Here are a few recommendations from my recently watched list for you to binge in your down time this weekend.

Selling Sunset

image credit: Netflix

When reality tv met real estate. Netflix’s latest hit original series follows the day to day life of the estate agents of the Oppenheim Group, selling some of the bougiest homes that LA has to offer. I’m a sucker for looking at houses on the market, especially ones that are completely out of my budget, so watching what is essentially a behind the scenes of the most desirable mansions in the heart of Los Angeles, costing up to $75 million, is the dream for me. 

The team of women on the show gave me major girl boss inspo: they hustle hard and party harder, not to mention always manage to look like something straight off a runway. Of course a reality tv show isn’t complete without an extra large helping of drama and within the three seasons, the drama is certainly served piping hot. From weddings, divorces, friendship breakdowns and standard office drama, Selling Sunset has enough to have you satisfied. With season four rumoured to be on its way in 2021, we can look forward to more explosive content coming soon.

Down to Earth with Zac Efron

image credit: Netflix

We’re all friends around here, so I won’t lie to you; Zac Efron has been my celeb crush since ‘06 when he first put on that wildcats jersey and grabbed the microphone at the new years karaoke party. I’m not going to sit here and deny that the only reason I originally added this series to my watchlist was because that celeb crush is still very much alive and kicking, however, it goes without saying that I became so invested in the series after the first episode. 

Down to Earth follows Efron and health guru Darin Olien as they travel around the world, showcasing the eye opening truth of global warming and finding sustainable solutions for modern day issues that we have created. 

While many may question why Zac Efron of all people is the frontman of an environmentalist series, having not necessarily demonstrated experience in the field before, it’s clear he shows nothing but positivity and admiration for the people developing these sustainable ways of helping our planet. The series is so informative and inspiring; “change has to start somewhere,” he states in the trailer, encouraging us all to implement small changes into our everyday life in order to create a greater impact on our planet.

Get Organized with The Home Edit

image credit: Netflix

Everyone has that one cupboard in their home that they throw anything and everything in to get it out of the way and hidden from guests – out of sight out of mind. If you’re guilty of this, you need the help of Joanna and Clea. The Home Edit has proven that even a junk drawer can be organised. After building their organisation business solely through social media platforms, they now have three million adoring followers and a sparkling new Netflix series.

Get Organized with The Home Edit is by far the most satisfying series I’ve watched as of yet. The all female team, based in Nashville, takeover and transform neglected areas of their clients’ houses. From big name celebs such as Khloe Kardashian, Reece Witherspoon and Eva Longoria, to everyday people like you and me; the series shows we’re all guilty of having that one space in our homes that is in need of a little TLC and a lot of clear acrylic containers. 

After binging the series in just over a day, I was so unbelievably tempted to organise every aspect of my life. Seriously, The Home Edit makes you want to arrange even your sock drawer in colour order.

The Titan Games

image credit: Netflix

I’m trying so hard to get back on the fitness grind after putting on a few too many pounds during lockdown and although I’m not a fitness guru, watching The Titan Games provided me with so much motivation to up my game.

Hosted by the fitness king himself, Dwayne Johnson, fitness fanatics go head to head in strength enduring challenges to be prestigiously crowned a titan. It’s clear the participants are so passionate about what they do and that is definitely transcribed through the effort they put into the competition. I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t head one too many tears while binging the series.

The Titan Games provided me with what I’d been craving for so long, a good game show. While a lot more intense than Total Wipe Out or Tipping Point, it felt so exciting to watch something new rather than reruns of The Chase. The Titan Games makes for the perfect Saturday night watch. While I’m not quite ready to send in my application for The Titan Games just yet, the series definitely inspired me to run that all important mile on the treadmill.

Never Have I Ever

image credit: Netflix

Released in April of this year, Never Have I Ever is pretty much the American equivalent of the British classic, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging in series form. It follows Devi, an Indian-American high school student, returning to school after being paralysed due to the shock of her dad’s sudden death. She decides that she wants to change her social status and finally be seen as cool by her peers, however her friends and conservative mother don’t make this mission easy for her. Devi also pretty much throws herself at the hottest boy in school (the stereotypical popular jock, who already has every girl drooling over him) and despite becoming nothing but good friends with him, her besties definitely get the wrong impression, leading to a spiral of lies being told.

Coming of age comedies are such a comforting thing to me; in some ways it is so relatable, yet at the same time so far fetched and predictable you can’t help but laugh and feel better about your own situation.

The episodes are only around twenty minutes long and it’s such an easy watch, I wouldn’t be surprised if you binged it all within a day or two. Without giving any spoilers away, the end is kind of predictable by the time you’re a few episodes deep, but completely heart warming nonetheless. I personally hope they make a second series, because I want to know how the new changes in Devi’s life work out, however if the show is left at just one series, I’m still satisfied with the way it ended.

One thought on “5 Netflix series to binge this weekend

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.