A blogger’s essentials

Although I am no blogging expert, I do know a thing or two since it has been a hobby of mine for almost two long years of my life, so I decided to share some of the things I believe are essential in order to create the perfect post, other than the most obvious things.

If you’re anything like me, I’m constantly thinking of new ideas for blog posts and I can never EVER remember them when it comes to writing them. One of my most essential for blogging is a notebook, where I can write all of my idea down and plan out longer, more detailed posts. I also like to plan posts in advance so that I always have plenty of ideas at the ready. By physically writing down your blog post plans, you can keep track of what you have left to do before your post is complete, such as edit your photos and proof read the post.

zoella-lifestyle8

One of my favourite parts about creating blog posts is the photography involved and editing my pictures afterwards. I love to have some sort of ‘prop’ in my pictures if the item I’m taking a picture of is quite small or if it’s a single item. This could be absolutely anything that will break up the background of your pictures and make them look more interesting.

1c998638-625c-4baa-821c-23886b823981

You’re definitely going to need an editing app to make sure your pictures are as bright as possible, so that your posts attract viewers and your blog looks professional. I’ve found with a good editing app, there is no need to splash out on a fancy (not to mention expensive) camera, your iPhone camera will do just fine. I love to use VSCO and Facetune to brighten up my pictures. There is such a noticeable difference between pictures before and after editing (see below). I’m sure one day in the future I will do a full-length post on how I edit my blog pictures.

If you’re just getting into blogging, I hope this post helped you out in some way (and I also wish you the best of luck). Make sure you’re always caught up by following my blog, my twitter and Instagram.

Emily X

One thought on “A blogger’s essentials

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.