Summer Essentials 2016

Although it may not seem like it what with the regular rain storms in the UK, summer is FINALLY upon us and many of us, including myself, will be frantically planning and preparing for well-deserved holidays abroad, in the UK or just looking forward to that little bit of sunshine at home *fingers crossed*. I decided to put this post together to share just a few of my essentials for the following summer months.

flatlayflatlay2

One aim of mine for over the summer months is to get back into reading. In the past I was such a keen reader however as I got older I found I had less interest in picking up a book, I’d much rather scroll through my twitter feed or watch a YouTube video. Despite this, when on my summer holidays and lounging around the pool I always find a spare moment to read a book or two over the two weeks. This year I have gathered quite a collection of books to read while on holiday and have actually found myself tempted to begin reading them now which is quite a good sign!

booksbooks2

Another essential for me, and probably most people, is the perfect pair of sunglasses to wear when around the pool, sunbathing in the garden or going for long summer walks. I am in love with the ‘cat eye’ style and currently have two favourite pairs, although that hasn’t stopped me scouring ASOS for some more. I got so much wear out of my ASOS pair last year on holiday and I have fallen even more in love with my newer Quay Australia ‘My Girl’ pair.

shadesshades2

When on holiday abroad, I always take a decent collection of shorts as they are by far my most worn clothing item. Ready for this year’s two week trip to Mallorca, I have bought several pairs of patterned and ‘aztec’ style. I cannot wait to wear these on walks and around the pool. They’re so comfortable and I’ve also found some really affordable pics from the likes of H&M and Primark.

shorts

One skincare brand I feel is incredibly over looked; yet so affordable and effective is Sudocrem. This product has become such a staple in my skin care regime lately as I’ve found it helps to clear up any spots, moisturise any dryer areas and also doubles up as a pretty great facemask! Their handy 30g tube is perfect for packing and is so travel friendly.

sudocrem

Another skincare product I am head over heels in love with is La Roche Posay’s ‘Serozinc’ zinc sulphate solution which is an incredible toning mist, specifically designed for those of us with oily and blemish prone skin. It offers immediate anti-shine, anti-grease and pore tightening benefits, making it ideal for the summer months. The brand has recently released a 50ml can, making it equally as travel friendly and so we can all tackle oiliness on the go.

serozinc2serozinc

Summer is the perfect time to sport brighter, bolder nail polish colours. Last year I found so many amazing picks from Boots and Superdrug and this year’s stock is just as amazing! I can’t wait to get my hands on some more ready for my two weeks holiday in Mallorca. My two joint favourite brands from the drugstore are Barry M and Essie as they both have an overwhelming range of colours, retailing for a fairly low price.

nails

I don’t know about you but throughout the summer months my hair tends to get so dry, due to lounging around in the sun for hours upon end. This year I have promised myself I’d become more responsible for and take better care of my hair. I am currently obsessed with the ‘Ultimate Blend strength restorer serum’ by Garnier. My hair has never felt so soft and I have noticed I have so few split ends now. I use this product so often and my hair absolutely loves me for it! Already, I’ve used up so much of this serum. Stay tuned for a full hair care routine which will be up within the upcoming weeks.

hair oil

Thank you so much to Sudocrem and La Roche Posay for sending me the products I mentioned from their brands in this post. I genuinely do love and use their products. Make sure you’re always caught up by following my blog, my twitter and Instagram.

Emily X

One thought on “Summer Essentials 2016

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.